Irvine Hit & Run Defense Lawyers
Newport Beach Traffic Violation Attorneys With 25 Years of Experience
In the state of California, you are required to remain at the scene of an accident, lend aid, notify the authorities, and provide your identifying information. Even if you didn’t cause the accident, you cannot leave the scene because you could be charged with a hit and run. If the accident caused another person to sustain injuries or death, then the prosecutor can charge you with a felony hit and run, which can lead to severe penalties.
If you have been charged with a felony hit and run, your future may be at stake. Therefore, it is vital to contact an experienced hit and run attorney who can fight for your rights. The attorneys at Grant Law, A Professional Law Corporation have over 25 years of experience helping divers in Irvine and surrounding areas. We fight for you like family!
Contact our Irvine hit and run attorneys for a case evaluation at (949) 272-0602. We are always in our client’s corner!
Penalties for Hit & Run
If you are in an accident, even a minor fender bender, it is your legal duty tostop your vehicle and exchange your driver’s license number, insurance information, and contact information with the other driver. Failing to remain at the scene can result in severe penalties—whether it is charged as a misdemeanor or felony.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Hit & Run
If you are found guilty of a misdemeanor hit and run in California, you face serious consequences including:
- Up to 3 years informal probation
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Restitution to the victim of property damage
- 2 points on your California driving record
Penalties for Felony Hit & Run
If you are found guilty of a felony hit and run in California, you face severe consequences including:
- Felony conviction
- 16 months to 3 years in California State Prison
- Restitution in the victim
- Up to $10,000 fines
- Up to 2 points on your driving record
- Up to 4 years in California State Prison if the hit and run caused a death
- Possible addition vehicular manslaughter charges
Work with Our Experienced Irvine Hit & Run Attorneys
If you have been charged with a hit and run, it is vital to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible to develop a strong defense. The attorneys at Grant Law have over 25 years of experience helping drivers in Irvine and surrounding areas. This experience equips up to develop a strong defense on your behalf to reduce, and possibly dismiss your charges. We offer aggressive and hard-hitting courtroom representation to ensure that you receive the best possible results for your case.
Contact our experienced Irvine traffic crime lawyers today for a case review at (949) 272-0602. We are proud to serve people in Newport Beach, Huntington Beach, Laguna Niguel, and Mission Viejo.