Experienced Irvine Criminal Defense Firm
Call Today 949-272-0602
Back to Top
Assault Fighting For the Best Outcome for Our Clients Since 1984

Irvine Assault Crimes Attorneys

Fighting for Those in Newport Beach, Huntington Beach, Laguna NigUel, & Mission Viejo

Being charged with assault crimes in the state of California can mean many different things. First, it is important to know that assault and battery are two different crimes. Assault occurs when a person threatens another or attempts to harm them physically. Battery occurs when a person uses intentional force to harm another.

Whether this charge is your first offense or third, it is important to reach out to our Irvine assault crimes attorneys. We will aggressively defend your rights and will seek your charges dismissed or dropped. Our attorneys know that every person has a story, and yours deserves to be heard.

Call today at (949) 272-0602 to speak with a member of our Irvine criminal defense firm.

Aggravated Assault in Irvine

A simple assault occurs when a person attempts to cause injury to another person. This charge is elevated to aggravated assault if the person causing harm did so without any regard for the life of the person they were harming. In California, aggravated assault is treated as a wobbler offense. A wobbler offense can be charged as a minor misdemeanor or a serious felony, depending on the circumstances.

Penalties for simple assault include:

  • Up to one year in jail or 3 years in state prison
  • Fines up to $2,000
  • 1 to 3 years of probation

Assault with a Deadly Weapon

A person is charged with assault with a deadly weapon if they are being accused of using a weapon or object to threaten someone with harm. This type of criminal charge is considered very serious, and it is treated as a felony by the law.

A deadly weapon does not have to be a knife or gun. Anything that can be used to harm another person is a deadly weapon. This means that guns, knives, cars, baseball bats, or anything else that can threaten the physical health of another are considered weapons by the law.

Penalties for assault with a deadly weapon

  • Up to 4 years in state prison
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Felony probation (typically between 3 and 5 years)

Don’t Face Assault Charges Alone!

Assault charges can have a serious impact on someone’s life. If an individual is facing serious charges, our Irvine assault crimes lawyers will fight to have charges reduced or dropped. We know that there are two sides to every story and will fight to make sure that your side of events receive the reputation that they deserve.

Our firm uses 25 years of criminal defense experience to advocate for the rights of our clients. We have an established history serving the Irvine, Newport Beach, Huntington Beach, Laguna Nigel, and Mission Viejo areas.

Contact Grant Law today (949) 272-0602 for a consultation of your case and to find out how we will defend your future.

You're In Capable Hands

What Sets Us Apart 
  • A Hands-on, Client-focused Approach
  • Flexible Payment Plans for Every Case
  • After Hours & Weekend Appointments Available
  • Over 35 Years of Defense Experience

Contact Us Today

Schedule a Free Initial Case Evaluation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.